Picture

I was a victim of a fraud.

In February 2012, on a whim, my best friends and I took a trip out to North Shore Animal League on Long Island to look at the wonderful pups.

I left with a black and tan coonhound that I love very much. Even though she became a behemoth!

A year or so ago, when I held the two month old puppy, the volunteer at the shelter assured me that she would grow only 20-30 lbs. Who was I to doubt it?

Wanting to believe him and quickly falling for that adorable puppy, I adopted her.

Bringing her home and showing my friends, those more experienced with dogs broke the bad news to me: that puppy was going to grow into one big girl.

I refused to accept it, even as the evidence started to pile up against my hope. Perhaps her unusually large paws would not be grown into?

Well, fast forward to today and Buffy is a healthy 70 lb dog!

The little pup has grown into a beast, but is gentle as can be. Despite a few mishaps during her growing year (like eating a hole in my wall and unleashing diarrhea in her bed), we have a happy dog/owner relationship.

I’ve never been so happy to be a victim of such a fraud. But let’s just say I am a bit more skeptical of cute small things…



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Daniel is an author, freelance writer, blogger, and content creator. He lives in Brooklyn, NY.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All
    Brooklyn
    Dog
    Dowager Countess
    Downton Abbey
    Financial System
    Fitbit
    Food
    Gdp
    Health
    Maggie Smith
    Manners
    Puppy
    Stock Market
    United States